Meta’s new ‘Link History’ feature for the Facebook app isn’t as protective of your data as it claims

Meta recently introduced a new feature called ‘Link History’ to its Facebook app, which stores any links that a user clicks on in a neat little page for later reference. There’s also a toggle that allows users to turn this feature off, which in theory prevents Meta from storing this data. But does this feature, and the toggle deactivating it, truly allow you to retain your privacy? Or is it Meta giving you the illusion of choice on its terms?

According to Meta, ‘Link History’ prevents users from losing website links that they click on through the Facebook app, by storing those links in their account. However, a report from Gizmodo explains that the issue is it’s a data tracking feature, as it lets Meta keep tabs on the websites you visit through the social media app as well as track your activity on the website once you’re there.

Source link

Meta recently introduced a new feature called ‘Link History’ to its Facebook app, which stores any links that a user clicks on in a neat little page for later reference. There’s also a toggle that allows users to turn this feature off, which in theory prevents Meta from storing this data. But does this feature,…

Meta recently introduced a new feature called ‘Link History’ to its Facebook app, which stores any links that a user clicks on in a neat little page for later reference. There’s also a toggle that allows users to turn this feature off, which in theory prevents Meta from storing this data. But does this feature,…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *